Wednesday, September 25, 2013

MCLA Welcomes Lourdes University to Play in the CCLA Conference

Lourdes University was granted membership into the CCLA & MCLA (Division II) with a unanimous vote on Sunday, September 15, 2013.

The Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) is a national organization of non-NCAA, college lacrosse programs. The MCLA currently operates in the US and Canada with 200+ teams in two divisions, across ten conferences. The Central Collegiate Lacrosse Association (CCLA) consists of 7 Division I teams and 15 Division II teams, representing four states: Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

In 2013, 5 of the 15 CCLA Division 2 teams were ranked in the top 25.  Also, from 2008-2010, a CCLA team won the division 1 national championship, and in 2011, a CCLA team won the Division 2 national championship.

“We are extremely excited to be accepted into the MCLA and competing in the CCLA. Nationally the CCLA has done some amazing things: winning national championships and having multiple teams competing in the national tournament each year,” Head Coach Patrick Yannarelli said.

Yannarelli added, “Since the introduction of our program at Lourdes, we have been able to create quite a buzz in northwest Ohio and the Toledo area, and look forward to building a solid program with players from all over.”

About Lourdes
Lourdes University located in Sylvania, Ohio is committed to the highest level of student athlete success and the implementation of the sports programs has been an overwhelming success at the school.  In the last 4 years Lourdes University has added all 13 sports teams as well as brand new apartment style dormitories for the students. Lourdes University offers 50+majors including (multiple business, environmental sciences, education, social work etc.) as well as graduate school.

No comments:

Post a Comment